Setting Up Leave Requests

Follow

When setting up Leave Requests, you’ll need to consider the following settings:

 

Otherwise Working Days

For Leave Requests to work, FlexiTime will need to determine which days in the leave request are Otherwise Working Days (OWDs). This article explains how OWDs are worked out.

 

User Access
For employees to be able to request leave, they will need to be given User Access to login to FlexiTime. If you want them to be able to enter Leave Requests, but not edit or add any other type of time entries, you should add the Time Viewer role to their access.

 

Approvals

Leave Requests entered by employees always require approval, regardless of whether Time Requires Approval is ticked under Setup > Company Settings > Timesheets. When an employee enters a Leave Request, an approval email will automatically be sent to:

  • Any users with the Leave Approver role who are in the same Department as the employee.
  • Any users with the Leave Approver role who are set as the Manager of the employee.The manager field can be set on each employee’s Employment tab. 

If there are no users who fit those criteria, then the Leave Request for the employee will be sent to: 

  • Any users with the Administrator user role and the Leave Approver role
  • Any users with the Payroll Manager user role and the Leave Approver role

Finally, if there are no users found then the Leave Request email will be sent to the Admin Email address for the account (found under Setup > Company Settings > Company Details).

The Admin of the account or anyone set up with the Administrator or Payroll Manager role will still be able to approve requests via the Timesheets, regardless of whether they have the Leave Approver role or received the emailed Leave Request.

 

Work Categories

Once you’ve decided which leave types will use Leave Requests and which will be handled with traditional time entries, we recommend you edit the Employee Leave and Leave Request work items accordingly. On the Categories tab for each item, close those leave types that won't be used with each approach.

 

Unavailable Requests

One of the categories of Leave Requests is called Unavailable. This does not have any pay code associated with it so will not cause any lines to be generated in pays. You can use this so that employees can request to not be rostered on for a particular day. For example, in a bar where employees have a degree of freedom over when they work, someone might request the day off for their birthday without wanting to take paid leave.

 

Other Leave

You can add other leave types as well if you have some unique to your company. For example, you could add a Pay Code called Birthday Leave, then add a new category under the Leave Request work for Birthday Leave.

 

Record Hours Only

You need to have the graphical Time Entry tab available to be able to record and see leave requests. Leave Requests are not shown on the Time Summary tab. This means that companies with Record Hours Only set under Setup > Company Settings > Timesheets will be unable to use Leave Requests and will need to continue to use Timesheets for leave.

 

Annual Leave Balances

When entering a Leave Request for Annual Leave, balances are shown and, where possible, estimates are made of how much leave will be available after the leave has been taken. Note that it is Annual Leave Available that is shown, not Annual Leave Due - as such it includes any leave accrued over the part year. This is because generally businesses are happy for employees to take leave in advance of their entitlement, provided they don’t take more than they have accrued.

 

Turning Leave Requests Off or On

If you don't want to use Leave Requests, you can turn it off under Setup > Work by editing the Leave Request work item and ticking Work Closed.

 

If you've previously turned Leave Requests off and would like to turn it back on again, you'll just need to re-open Leave Requests in your account.

To do so, go to Setup > Work and tick Show Closed Work. Edit the Leave Request work item that appears, untick Work Closed, and click Save.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk